Gris Gris font cover Gris Gris back cover


Leon Medica - Bass
Tony Haselden - Guitar
David Peters - Drums
Rod Roddy - Keyboards
Jim Odom - Guitar
Randy Knaps - Lead Vocals
Boo Pourciau - Drums, Background Vocals
Nelson Blanchard - Keyboards, Background Vocals
Mark Duthu - Percussion

Addition musician:
Steve Brewster - Percussion

Ain't Nothing But A Gris Gris

Songs (Written By):

  1. Love's Gotta Hold On Me (L. Medica, D. Diefenderfer, F. Wall, K. Rowell, H. Teekel, D. Wynn)
  2. My Heaven Can't Wait (J. Odom, N. Blanchard, R. Knapps)
  3. Everything That I Love (L. Medica)
  4. Ain't Nothing But A Gris Gris (J. Pollard)
  5. Slippin' Again (J. Pollard)
  6. French Quarter Moon (T. Haselden)
  7. Closing In On You (L. Medica)
  8. Bayou Lullaby (J. Pollard)
  9. You're Always Right (A. Osborne, L. Anderson, L. Medica)
  10. I'll Be Over You (N. Blanchard)

All songs written or co-written by members of LeRoux

Produced by Leon Medica
Associate Producer: Jim Odom

Recorded during Mardi Gras 1999 at Dockside Studio, Maurice, LA
Engineer: Tony Daigle
Tape Transfers: Mark Engeran

Overdubs and Transfers at Techno Sound Studio, Baton Rouge, LA
Engineer: Nelson Blanchard

Percussion overdubs at RCA Studio B, Nashville, TN
Engineer: Fred Bogert

Mixed and Mastered at Techno Sound Studio, Baton Rouge, LA

Album Design and Layout: Newton Elberson
Cover Photograph: Wish Nails
Band Promotion Photo: Pat Barrow

Leon would like to thank: John Frankenheimer, who from the beginning always kept our legal affairs in order while keeping his heart and soul deep in the music; the band for their time and devotion to this project and for reviving some funky musical spirits from the bayou; Nelson Blanchard for the hours of detection and the uses of Techno Sound Studio; Steve and Wish for being good friends and making me always feel at home while recording at Dockside; Tony Daigle for going above the call in capturing our emotions on tape; Warren Dewey for helping sculpt LeRoux's sound from the start to the present; Newton Elbertson - his designs and graphics have been there since the beginning; Rhonda, Boo, and Chad, thank you for all of your help and friendship.

Their 1978 Capitol press release read: "LeRoux takes its name from the Cajun French term for the thick and hearty gravy base that's used to make gumbo." Louisiana's LeRoux (the first album) was a musical gumbo that blended various instruments and arrangements for some spicy, mouth-watering pop rock. Using blues, R&B, funk, jazz, rock, and Cajun as their base, their Southern anthem "New Orleans Ladies," voted Song Of The Century by Gambit Magazine, simmered with the laid-back feel of the "Big Easy," evoking images of Bourbon Street and the Bayou. That song, together with their smash hit "Nobody Said It Was Easy," brings LeRoux daily airplay from DC to Baton Rouge, and they remain cult heroes to this day.

The act began to gel in 1975 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana as the Jeff Pollard Band. They came into their own in '77, touring the United States and Africa with Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown through an arrangement with the US State Department. The group's big break came when Leon Medica, the band's producer, presented a demo tape to Paul Tannen at Screen Gems-EMI while doing a session in Nashville and making trips to Colorado to contribute bass parts to a Dirt Band Album at William McEuen's Aspen Recording Society Studios.

McEuen, Tanney and Attorney John Frankenheimer helped Medica secure a recording contract with Capitol Records. Renamed "Louisiana's LeRoux," they recorded two albums, produced by Medica, of Louisiana flavored pop-rock (their eponymous debut and Keep The Fire Burning) and a third, Up, which saw them shift styles to accommodate Jai Winding's more mainstream production.

In '81, LeRoux moved to RCA, which decided to break the band as a singles act. They succeeded with the top-20 hit "Nobody Said It Was Easy" and received heavy MTV airplay with the top 5 AOR hit "Addicted," both featured on their fourth album, Last Safe Place, produced by Medica.

Soon afterward, however, lead singer Jeff Pollard left the group to start his own Christian Ministry. He was replaced by Dennis "Fergie" Frederiksen, and when Bobby Campo also exited, Berkley School of Music graduate Jim Odom came aboard for the group's fifth album, So Fired Up, that included their chart single and MTV hit, "Carrie's Gone" (written about Carol Burnett's daughter who was dating Fergie at the time).

LeRoux toured for eight years, headlining and supporting numerous groups, including ZZ Top, Kansas, The Doobie Brothers, Bob Seger, Journey, The Dirt Band, John Prine, and Muddy Waters. LeRoux's many television appearances include Don Kirshner's Rock Concert, Solid Gold, Midnight Special, MTV, and their own public broadcasting live video, Rocking the Nottaway, filmed in 1997.

In 1983, Randy Knaps replaced Fergie. Medica, along with members of Kansas, The Doobie Brothers, Pablo Cruise, Steven Stills, Santana, and Cheap Trick, performed for the USO on four overseas tours. Haselden and Knaps accompanied them on the Around The World Tour.

Bassist, producer, and songwriter Leon Medica, one of the group's founders, is currently co-producing Anders Osborne, Wayne Toups, and producing Brian McComas for Disney's Nashville-based label. He has recorded with many acts and numerous soundtracks, including and he produced Tom Johnston of The Doobie Brothers on one of the biggest selling soundtracks of all time, Dirty Dancing.

Tony Haselden, guitarist and vocalist, who wrote some of LeRoux's all-time favorites, relocated to Nashville, Tennessee several years ago and is one of the top writers/producers in Country music. Tony wrote many #1 Country hits, including "That's My Story" by Colin Ray, "It Ain't Nothin'" by Keith Whitley, "You Know Me Better Than That" by George Strait, and he also produced The Kinleys and The Wilkinsons.

In 1996, the band's Bayoudegradable: The Best of Louisiana's LeRoux CD release party at the House of Blues in New Orleans created a renewed demand for the band to perform live. After the success of the CD, Medica, Haselden, Odom, Knaps, along with original members Rod Roddy and David Peters and new members Boo Pourciau and Nelson Blanchard, began to perform select live dates, reviving some funky musical spirits from the bayou.